Go Out, Suit Up, and Drink Your Way to a Productive Lifestyle

17Mar10

I’m visiting my brother, who’s currently in college…and it’s FINALS WEEK! I kind of miss it. I actually miss the runs to starbucks, the intense studying and the hiding out in the library or study centers for hours (or days) at a time. So I took note and did the same. I went to two different libraries and was able to get more work done in those two or three hours than I have when I tried to do work at home. There are a lot of things you can do to get in the proper mind set so you can be more productive.

1) Go out!
I think it’s important if you’re unemployed to get out of the house once in awhile. Even if you’re just applying to jobs. Take your laptop, resume, cover letters or whatever you’re working on at the moment and find somewhere where you can sit for a couple hours and just dive in. The lure of a comfy bed, food, and reruns of Friends is a greater distraction to me than the laid back environment of a library, café or bookstore.

2) Suit up!
Sometimes when I can’t get out of the house for some reason, I purposely get ready to go out– put on a nice outfit and even some makeup. While working in pajamas seems tempting, it personally makes me feel lazy and uninspired to do anything but sleep.

3) Drink!
I was surprised to learn that my brother doesn’t drink coffee during finals week, so I happily bought him some Starbucks. I don’t want to be the cause of anyone’s addiction, but having something to drink while I’m working always helps me focus. No, not an alcoholic drink (just makes me sleepy actually). But rather something like tea, coffee, or even a smoothie.

Reading the headings, it seems as if I’m urging you to go out to a bar. Well, you can do that too…after a full day of being productive.

Is there any particular routine you like to go through before you can properly sit down and become productive, or can you just sit down anywhere and get work done?

Also, Happy St. Patrick’s Day! 🙂

4 Responses to “Go Out, Suit Up, and Drink Your Way to a Productive Lifestyle”

  1. I have been working from home for years now. I’ve always made a point to get out of the house at least once during the day. Whether it’d be going down the block for a cup of coffee or taking a stroll around one of my neighborhood’s may parks. There is something about fresh air and interacting with people who also work outside of the office that inspires some great ideas.

    So yes, get out!

    • Getting out is amazing hehe. At first I was ecstatic to work from home with my internship but after awhile working in pajamas got boring! With spring coming I can’t wait to get outside more. Thanks for replying!

  2. i know what you mean. being in certain environments just primes you for the right mindset!! i guess thus why i don’t get a lot of work done at home, in my room, on my bed….. hehehe.

    • I wish I could still get work done in my room and on my bed! I used to be able to but now all I want to do is sleep if that’s where I am working 😉


Leave a Reply

