DO’s and DO NOT’s For Sufferers of DCFH (Daily Commute From Hell) Syndrome

25Mar10

DO want

DO NOT want

Right now I am loving my current internship because I get to do what I love, from the convenience of my own home. The only downside? Our weekly meetings. Why? Because to get there, it takes a little over two hours one way without traffic. You can imagine how spending a total of four to six hours on the road can be a complete nightmare. (Disclaimer: In the long run, the commute is worth it for this amazing opportunity.)

I sat there today in bumper to bumper traffic, stewing in my own frustration and anxiety, while I imagined all I could be getting accomplished if I wasn’t stuck in traffic. It made me realize that this nightmare is a reality for so many. While I can’t invent a flying car or a teleportation machine for you, I have come up with some simple DO’s and DO NOT’s for those who suffer from DCFH (Daily Commute from Hell) syndrome.

DO listen to a book on tape/CD. DO NOT read an actual book in traffic. Don’t roll your eyes, I’ve seen this happen multiple times in traffic…you know who you are!

DO learn another language by listening to audio tapes/CDs you can borrow from the library. DO NOT curse the other drivers in another language. Okay this I guess I can make an exception 😉

DO sing aloud to your favorite songs on the radio. DO NOT fall asleep to your favorite songs on the radio.

DO chew gum to keep your hunger in check. DO NOT chew out the other drivers and proceed to keep them in check by cutting them off.

DO eat something simple like an apple or pear. DO NOT peel an orange or squeeze yourself some lemonade.

DO make a mental to-do list of everything you have to do that week. DO NOT make a mental list of everything you wish you could do to the person who just cut you off.

DO think of something nice to do for your significant other when you get home. DO NOT plan on ignoring or giving them some attitude as a result of your mood.

DO gas up before you get on the freeway. DO NOT wait for the gas light to appear while you’re in the furthest lane from the exit in bumper to bumper traffic. True story.

DO go to the bathroom before you leave. DO NOT hold your pee for the entire ride. No one likes a UTI.

There are probably a bunch more that I can think up as I’m sitting in traffic next week. But for now, I’ll leave you with those. While I was a little sarcastic with some of these, there are some things you can actually get done. Didn’t think you had time to brush up on your Spanish or French? Think again!

What are some things you like to do while sitting in traffic? What’s worked and what hasn’t?

P.S. I was featured on Brazen Careerist last week…crazy! It was a pleasant surprise to say the least. Especially because it was also one of my shortest blogs to date. I guess I can take a hint, right?

No Responses Yet to “DO’s and DO NOT’s For Sufferers of DCFH (Daily Commute From Hell) Syndrome”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

